Unpublishing a Drupal node is done through the Publishing Options field set on the content submission form.

To unpublish a node, do the following:

  1. Open the node in Edit mode.
  2. Scroll to the Publishing Options tab at the bottom of the page and click on it.
  3. Uncheck the Published option.
  4. Click Save.

Please note that unpublishing a node will remove the presence of that node in any menus that it may reside in.