User Level: 
Click on an image to make it bigger.
D7 - Working with Config - Search and Metadata - URL Redirects - Settings Tab

1. Go to Settings Tab

Click on the Settings tab.

D7 - Working with Config - Search and Metadata - URL Redirects - Settings Tab - Change Redirect Deletion Setting

2. Change Redirect Deletion Setting

Automatically Create Redirects When URL Aliases Are Changed checkbox = checked.

Retain Query String Through Redirect checkbox = checked.

Default Redirect Status select field = 301 Moved Permanently.

Allow Redirects To Be Saved Into The Page Cache checkbox = unchecked.

Delete Redirects That Have Not Been Accessed For select box = change to 6 months.

Click the Save Configuration button.

D7 - Working with Config - Search and Metadata - URL Redirects - Settings Tab - Settings Changed System Confirmation

3. System Confirms Change

You will received a confirmation from the system at the top of the screen upon a successful save.