User Level: 
Click on an image to make it bigger.
D8 Working With People - Permissions - Rebuild Permissions - Message

1. Rebuild Permissions Message

You may occasionally get what looks like an error message that states "The content access permissions need to be rebuilt. Rebuild permissions."

Don't let this message trip you up. When dealing with permissions in Drupal sometimes you may find that the permissions need to be rebuilt. This is like a refresh of the permissions table.

Click the Rebuild Permissions link.

D8 Working With People - Permissions - Rebuild Permissions - Click Rebuild Permissions Button

2. Click Rebuild Permissions

You'll be taken to a simple page with a couple of buttons.

Click the Rebuild Permissions button.

D8 Working With People - Permissions - Rebuild Permissions - Redirects to Status Report

3. Redirection to Status Report

Once the permissions have rebuilt, you'll be redirected to the Status Report screen.

If the system has found any errors, it will indicate so and give you a link to view the errors.